Indie Business Community

Enjoy Your Life! Build Your Business! Have Your Way!

This morning I received the following email:

Subject: About "sulori " intellectual property rights (TO CEO&Principal)-

Dear CEO & Principal

We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.
On Aug 25,2009, we received an application formally. One company named "ODHE company" wanted to applied for the Internet Keyword "sulori " and some domain names through our body.
Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that these domain names and Internet Keyword is identical with your company's. So we have to confirm with you at two points:
1. If your company consign ODHE company to register these domain names and Internet Keyword, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.
2. If your company have nothing to do with ODHE company, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and Internet Keyword.
I want to confirm that are you the corporate representative of this company? If you do, I will feedback some problems to you; if you do not, please send my words to your company's cororate representative or lawyer. We need your answer of force adeffect. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Eric
Auditing Department
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Tel: +852-2297-9279
Fax: +852-2297-9209
Email: Eric@eworlddnr.hk Eric@eworld.hk
Website: http://www.eworld.hk



**There were several red flags that went up in my head so I did further research and confirmed my thoughts of it being some type of scam. Here's a link to a post that discusses this common scam so beware Indies!

http://www.designfederation.net/blogs/be-warned-about-wwweworldhk-s...

Views: 10

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have had many of these phish emails and basically they are wanting you to respond and then the harassment begins by them soliciting funds from you to protect your domain name.

Responding opens up a can of worms.... deleting it nothing happens. So ignore and delete....do not respond ever. No one is going to take your domain name in the states. If they want it in .hk then let them have it. If you are planning to have a division of your company overseas then when you register your domain name take the .com .net. org. ca. hk. or any other suffix then.
Thank you for your feedback and advice. After doing some research, I did ignore and delete. Just as you said, I ran across a few people that responded and the harassment began.

It's great to have forums and blogs available to help police these types of activities!
I get these too all of the time. Basically all they want is your money.
It is a good exercise though to double check that all your essential domains are protected with top tier endings such as .net, .org, and even .biz.

If you think your domain name is something that other people might capitalize on then go ahead and protect them by securing the additional registrations. Its only $10 per and a wise investment to protect your intellectual property.

I own almost 400 packaging domains that I have secured to protect my brands. Its something you should consider as an investment not an expense.
Happy Packaging!
JoAnn Hines
Packaging Diva
JoAnn,

Wow! 400! That must be some kind of record for Indies. I bet there are some pretty big Fortune 100 companies that don't even own that many domains. You go girl!

dM
Great post!

I too have gotten several emails from them, with the email being identical, only the name is different- everyone from 'Erik' to 'Jeremy' to 'Paul' has contacted me.

What I found REALLY interesting is that my website is under construction, when you go to my site, there is a message saying the usual 'Under construction, check out our products at...' with links to our Etsy shops, etc. There is NO CONTACT INFO listed on my web page, nor any reference to a 'customer service' email, yet this company contacted me through the 'customerservice@" email address that I had set up but not posted anywhere.

Basically, they took a stab in the dark and figured most sites have a 'customerservice' email address, so they would send an email out and see what happened. A couple days later I got another email sent to my 'admin@' email address which again, is not posted anywhere, so they just guessed that it would work.

I immediately deleted the emails, and did make mention to it on the other business forums I go to. As was pointed out in the comments section of the previously posted link- it's an example of the internet policing itself; when we take the next step beyond just deleting the message from our inbox and try to spread the word to our fellow ecommerce colleagues, it only serves to shut the scammers down that much faster since the run out of victims.

Thanks for sharing & reminding me that a quick, simple post about what 'scammer' emails I recieve is all that is needed to help to spread the word and maybe even prevent someone from getting scammed!
Hi,

I've been getting these too. Never did research on them, just went on gut instinct. Is it me or does there seem to be more scams out there now days than ever? Wonder if the state of the economy is causing this. It's unfortunate that these people don't spend more time making a "legitimate" living like the rest of us!

Warm Regards,
Christine White-Stanton
940-239-7538
Scandle, LLC "A Candle Never Felt So Good"
http://www.scandlecandle.com/

*Winner The Best of Best Spa Tools & Accessories 2008- Skin, Inc. Magazine
*Winner of Best Candle 2008 Beauty Awards - H2O Magazine
*Finalist in the 2008 Fragrance Business Product of the Year Awards - GCI Magazine

Be A Scandle Affiliate: http://www.abodycandle.com/affiliate.php
Tweet With Me: http://twitter.com/ScandleCandle
Blog: http://naturalspabeauty.blogspot.com/
MySpace: www.myspace.com/scandlebodycandle
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Scandle-Candle/173291740075
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheScandleCandle
I really appreciate everyone sharing their experiences as well as providing valuable input. The scammers are definitely persistent and I received this email a few hours ago:

Dear CEO & Principal

I have sent one email to you on Aug 26,2009. We did not receive your reply until now. I have been helping you in the whole course, but we need your cooperation. We don't hope these domain names and internet keyword to be registered under your unknown. So we sent email to inform your company to protect your interest. Do you mean that you want to give up the protect & registration? If so, we will sign the registration agreement with the third party. If you decide to register & protect these domain names and internet keyword, please let us know within 3 workdays.
Waiting for your further reply as soon as possible. If any question, do not hesitate to contact me.
Have a nice day !

Best Regards,
Eric
Auditing Department

**Needless to say, there are a few "red flags" that clearly indicate the scam nature of the email. For example, "We did not receive your reply until now." I actually never replied to any emails and have simply discarded them.

I'll be sure to keep everyone posted as I come across any additional info!

RSS

Bramble Berry

Bramble Berry

Visit Our Sponsors

Soap EquipmentMold MarketElements Bath and Body Donna Maria Aromatics Mountain Rose Herbs Essential Wholesale The Ponte Vedra Soap Shoppe BioChemicaThe Bead DreamerlPlanet LabelSamara Botane Sarati Private Label Sarati Private LabelFrench Hill Silicone MoldsFormulator Sample Shopt

Community Leaders

Meet the people who help make Indie Social such a great place to learn, share and grow!

Lydia Fiedler is IBN's Member & Community Manager. A "crafty girl," Lydia  believes in "Art Unto Others™," meaning she likes to create art and then share it. Connect at Lydia's Profile Page and on Twitter.

Lauren Riemer is the assistant to IBN's CEO. Her gifts of administration and organization help keep things running smoothly around here. Connect at Lauren's Profile Page.

Donna Maria is the founder and CEO of IBN. Connect at dM's Profile PageblogFaceBook, and on Twitter.

Get Handmade Products Insurance!

Badge

Loading…

© 2012   Created by dM, CEO.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service